Possible Opt Out Procedure »
From Rod, a note about the optoutprescreen.com service offered by the credit bureaus. For what it's worth, the site doesn't seem to work if you click a link. Just type it in your address bar and you should be good to go.
So is it real? I dunno. It seems pretty legit, but I looked briefly through the sites of a couple of credit bureaus and they didn't mention it. I called the Credit Reporting Industry Opt Out Hotline (888-5-OPT-OUT), and their recorded message tells you about the page. That's promising.
I also found this thread, which contains the detail from someone who dug a bit deeper than I, and that information seems to indicate that the site is legit. I've also seen reports that you can leave out your social, and it doesn't appear to be required, but I'm wondering how well they would match up your records if you don't include it.





















Comments (3)
I used the site last year and after a couple of months haven't seen a single credit card offer since.
Posted by Joost Schuur | February 20, 2005 11:29 PM
EPIC touts it as legit. It's intentionally designed to not accept referrals (click-thrus) from other sites, though I suspect that's less for security and more to discourage folks from doing it.
There's also an 800 number you can call.
Posted by *** Dave | February 21, 2005 10:06 AM
This site is recommended on the TransUnion contact page.
Posted by Pat | March 11, 2005 11:49 PM